IOL Lab @ TUB/ZIB

Group Members

We are looking for Postdocs, PhD students, and Master students to join (see openings).

Current members

Sebastian Pokutta

Full Professor @ TU Berlin
Vice President @ Zuse Institute Berlin
email: pokutta@zib.de

web: http://www.pokutta.com/

  • Diploma in Mathematics (minor: in Computer Science), University of Duisburg-Essen
  • PhD with Rüdiger Göbel, University of Duisburg-Essen
  • Postdoc MIT, TUD, FAU

Mathieu Besançon

Postdoc, started Jan 2021
email: besancon@zib.de

web: https://matbesancon.github.io

  • MSc in Process Engineering, 2016, Université de Technologie de Compiègne
  • Joint PhD in Mathematics & Computer Science, 2020, Polytechnique Montréal & École Centrale de Lille

Gábor Braun

Postdoc, started Jan 2020
email: braungb88@gmail.com

web: https://www.renyi.hu/~braung/

  • MSc in Mathematics (minor: in English-Hungarian technical translator), Eötvös Loránd University
  • PhD with Rüdiger Göbel, University of Duisburg-Essen
  • Postdoc UDE, University of Leipzig, Alfréd Rényi Institute of Mathematics, Georgia Tech

Francisco Criado

Postdoc, started March 2021
email: criado@math.tu-berlin.de

  • BSc in Mathematics and Computer Science, Complutense University of Madrid
  • MSc in Mathematics and Computation, University of Cantabria
  • MSc in Mathematics and Foundations of Computer Science, University of Oxford
  • PhD in Mathematics, TU Berlin

Gabriele Iommazzo

Postdoc, started Spring 2022
email: iommazzo@zib.de

  • M.Sc. in Business Informatics and Data Science, Università di Pisa, 2017
  • Joint Ph.D. in Mathematics and Computer Science, École Polytechnique Paris and Università di Pisa, 2021

David Martínez-Rubio

Postdoc, started Jan 2022
email: martinez-rubio@zib.de

web: https://damaru2.github.io

  • BSc in Mathematics and in Computer Science, Complutense University of Madrid
  • MSc in Mathematics and Foundations of Computer Science, University of Oxford
  • PhD in Computer Science with Varun Kanade and Patrick Rebeschini, University of Oxford

Kartikey Sharma

Postdoc, Group Head FATE, started Spring 2020
email: kartikeyrinwa@gmail.com

web: https://kartikeyrinwa.github.io/

  • B.Tech Process Engineering, IIT Roorkee
  • MSc in Industrial Engineering, Northwestern University
  • PhD with Omid Nohadani, Northwestern University

Christoph Spiegel

Postdoc, Group Head ICOL, started Summer 2020
email: christoph.spiegel@fu-berlin.de

web: http://www.christophspiegel.berlin/

  • BSc in Mathematics, Freie Universität Berlin
  • MSc in Mathematics, Freie Universität Berlin and Berlin Mathematical School
  • PhD in Mathematics with Juanjo Rué and Oriol Serra, Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya

Zev Woodstock

Postdoc, started Jan 2022
email: woodstock@zib.de

web: https://zevwoodstock.github.io/

  • MSc in Applied Mathematics, North Carolina State University
  • PhD in Mathematics with Patrick Combettes, North Carolina State University

Christoph Graczyk

PhD Student in Mathematics, started in Fall 2020
email: graczyk@zib.de

  • BSc in Mathematics in Finance and Industry, TU Braunschweig
  • MSc in Mathematics in Finance and Industry, TU Braunschweig

Sebastian Knebel

PhD Student in Mathematics, started Spring 2022
email: knebel@zib.de

  • BSc in Mathematics, FU Berlin
  • Diplom in Applied Mechanics, TU Dresden

Felix Prause

PhD Student in Mathematics, started Summer 2020
email: prause@zib.de

  • Co-Advisor: Prof. Dr. Ralf Borndörfer
  • BSc in Mathematics, TU Berlin
  • MSc in Mathematics, TU Berlin

Christophe Roux

PhD Student in Mathematics, started Fall 2021
email: roux@zib.de

web: http://christopheroux.de

  • BSc in Physical Engineering, TU Berlin
  • MSc in Scientific Computing, TU Berlin

Shpresim Sadiku

PhD Student in Mathematics, started Fall 2020
email: shpresim.ss@gmail.com

web: https://www.shpresimsadiku.com/

  • BSc in Mathematics, University of Tirana
  • MSc in Mathematics in Data Science, TU Munich

Arwed Steuer

PhD Student in Mathematics, started Spring 2022
email: steuer@zib.de

  • BSc in Mathematics, University of Tübingen
  • MSc in Mathematics, University of Tübingen

Elias Wirth

PhD Student in Mathematics, started Summer 2020
email: wirth@zib.de

web: https://www.wirthelias.com

  • BSc in Mathematics, University of Bern
  • MSc in Mathematics, ETH Zürich

Max Zimmer

PhD Student in Mathematics, started Summer 2020
email: zimmer@zib.de

  • BSc in Mathematics, TU Berlin
  • MSc in Mathematics, TU Berlin

Jonathan Geuter

MSc Student in Mathematics at TU Berlin, started Spring 2021
email: geuter@zib.de

Felix Huber

MSc Student in Industrial Engineering, started Fall 2020
email: huber_felix@gmx.net

  • BSc in Industrial Engineering, TU Berlin

Garam Kim

MSc student in Scientific Computing (TU Berlin), started Summer 2021
email: garam@zib.de

  • BSc in Mathematics, Pusan National University
  • MSc in Applied Mathematics, Pusan National University

Elias Schecke

MSc Student in Mathematics (TU Berlin), started Summer 2021
email: schecke@zib.de

Anant Rajeev Talasikar

MSc Student in Scientific Computing (TU Berlin), started Spring 2022
email: talasikar@zib.de.

  • BSc in Mechanical Engineering, University of Mumbai

Berkant Turan

MSc Student in Scientific Computing (TU Berlin)
email: berkant-ferhat.turan@campus.tu-berlin.de

  • BSc in Engineering Science, TU Berlin

Daniel Viladrich

MSc Student in Technomathematics (TU Berlin), started October 2021
email: daniel.viladrich.h@gmail.com

  • BSc in Physics and Mathematics, UAB, Barcelona

Maria Bulychev

BSc Student in Mathematical Economics (TU Berlin), started Spring 2021
email: maria.bulychev@outlook.de

Ingo Meise

BSc Student in Mathematics, started Summer 2020
email: meiseingo@gmail.com

Alumni

Hoang Pham


Role: MSc Student in Economical Mathematics, started Summer 2020

Sergi Andreu


Role: MSc Student in Scientific Computing (TU Berlin), started Fall 2020

Thomas Kerdreux


Role: Postdoc, started Nov 2020

web: http://www.human-machine.art/

Alejandro Carderera

Graduated December 2021
Role: PhD Student in Machine Learning (GT), started Fall 2018

web: https://alejandro-carderera.github.io/

Max-Georg Schorr


Role: PhD Student in Mathematics, started Summer 2020

Cyrille Combettes

Graduated May 2021, now Postdoctoral Researcher with Jérôme Bolte
Role: PhD Student in Machine Learning (GT), started Fall 2018

web: https://cyrillewcombettes.github.io/

Alfredo Torrico Palacios

Graduated May 2019, now Postdoctoral Researcher in the MAGI, Polytechnique Montréal group of Andrea Lodi
Role: PhD student in Operations Research (GT)

web: https://sites.google.com/view/atorrico

Aurko Roy

Graduated May 2017, now Research Scientist at Google Research
Role: PhD student in ACO, GT

web: https://sites.google.com/site/royaurko/home

Daniel Zink

Graduated May 2017, now Data Scientist at Google
Role: PhD student in ACO, GT

Jeff Pavelka

Graduated May 2017, now Data Scientist at Macy’s Systems and Technology
Role: PhD student in Operations Research, GT

Arefin Huq

Graduated May 2016, now Research Engineer at Google Research
Role: PhD student in Computer Science, GT

Cristóbal Guzmán

Graduated May 2015, now Assistant Professor at the Faculty of Mathematics and Engineering School of Universidad Católica de Chile
Role: PhD student in ACO, GT

web: https://sites.google.com/view/cguzman/

Lab visitors

We host several visitors throughout the year to discuss research and present their work. If you want to meet any of the visitors please send an email.

Recent and upcoming visitors

Administrative Support

Antje Schulz is helping us at TU Berlin and Heike Balluneit and Sybille Mattrisch are helping us at ZIB with administration.